Friends of the PTJC

This is a list of academics in Japan-related fields at the University of Alberta who have a relationship with our Centre. If you wish to be listed here please contact us at ptjc@ualberta.ca.

Mikael Adolphson
Department: East Asian Studies
Email: madolphs@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: Japanese Cultural Studies

Anne Commons
Department: East Asian Studies
Email: acommons@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: Premodern Japanese Literature and Culture

Walter Davis
Department: Art and Design
Email: walter.davis@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: Twentieth-century Chinese and Japanese art

Kaori Kabata
Department: East Asian Studies
Email: kaori.kabata@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: Cognitive linguistics, Japanese Language, First and Second Language Acquisition

Takahiko Masuda
Department: Psychology  
Email: tmasuda@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: Cultural Variations in Cognition, Emotion, and Motivation; Multiculturalism; Bilingualism; Acculturation; Language Acquisition; Pragmatics; Socialization Processes of Cultural Practices

Tsuyoshi Ono
Department: East Asian Studies
Email: tono@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: Japanese language and linguistics

David Quinter
Department: East Asian Studies      
Email: quinter@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: East Asian religions and culture

Aidan Rowe
Department: Art & Design          
E-mail: aidan.rowe@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: Visual Communication Design/Interactive New Media

Sinh Vinh
Department: History and Classics
E-mail: svinh@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: Japan; East Asia

Andrzej Weber
Department: Anthropology
E-mail: andrzej.weber@ualberta.ca
Research Interests: Northeast Asia (Baikal, Hokkaido); Holocene hunter–gatherers; hunter–gatherer method and theory; archaeological science; subsistence and diet; mobility patterns; mortuary ritual; social complexity